Convocation exists in terms of the university statute as gazetted on 26 August 2008. 

Paragraph 38 (C) of the statute outlines the critical role of Convocation as inter alia being that of assisting the university and WSU foundation in fund-raising. 

Paragraph 41 (8) of the institutional statute also clearly states that the secretary to Convocation is the Registrar.


When WSU was established on 01 July 2005, it inherited three convocation offices which represented separate merger institutions: Border Technikon; Eastern Cape Technikon and the University of Transkei.

All former students and staff of these institutions as alumni, are eligible for WSU Convocation membership.

Since the establishment of WSU, an integrated alumni/convocation has been formed.


The Mthatha Convocation Chapter Committee has been established and further chapter committees have been established in Gauteng, Kwa-Zulu Natal, Western Cape and in the Eastern Cape in Port Elizabeth and East London.




Our campuses
Latest news
Contact us





[an error occurred while processing this directive]
[an error occurred while processing this directive]